Talking-Soccer.com

Go Back   Talking-Soccer.com > Soccer By Region / State > Region 1 > Massachusetts

Notices

Massachusetts Discussions about Massachusetts soccer.

Old 04-09-2010
Unregistered

Default Coaches and Parents

Just curious what type of relationship coaches should have with parents at the premier level? Should they have close friendships, such as hanging out at tournaments (more then team dinner)? Should they be facebook friends? Does this change thing when it comes to tryouts and Suzie maybe cut? How about the new parents on the team and their interpretation of the friendships? How is it with the elite teams? In the past the coaches seem to keep a little distance. I think it made a better team then the coach who tries to be friends and make everyone happy.
Old 04-09-2010
Unregistered

I am a town coach and I want the parents to get more involved. Most of them disappear after dropping off the kids. If the parents are not excited about soccer, hardly the kid will be passionate about soccer. And passion is what keeps the kids working on it.

I want the sidelines to be more noisy. Soccer is about fun, not sit tight and watch quietly. No arguments with ref calls though.
Old 04-09-2010
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
I am a town coach and I want the parents to get more involved. Most of them disappear after dropping off the kids. If the parents are not excited about soccer, hardly the kid will be passionate about soccer. And passion is what keeps the kids working on it.

I want the sidelines to be more noisy. Soccer is about fun, not sit tight and watch quietly. No arguments with ref calls though.
I agree town should be fun. But when they are U-16 above they don't want the parents at the practice. Coaches should be that tight with parents.
Old 04-09-2010
Unregistered

Default 6a8n62

Quote: