X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Teenage referee calls for national strike over verbal and physical 'abuse'

http://www.itv.com/news/granada/2017...hysical-abuse/

Referees don't need it. As a coach myself, if any of my players say a word to a referee they are immediately substituted. I think the strike would benefit massively and hopefully wake the local leagues up a little bit!
    Even in the EPL, all these players get paid large amounts, and still think it's acceptable to belittle another human who is doing a job.

Good for him. It's an issue that needs attention. Especially at the youth level there's no place for it.

Comment

Originally posted by Unregistered View Post
      Good for him. It's an issue that needs attention. Especially at the youth level there's no place for it.
      I agree, and it needs to start at the pro level. Kids are just imitating what they see.

Comment

I agree, and it needs to start at the pro level. Kids are just imitating what they see.
        Yes and in Europe fans are incredibly rude to refs, players, coaches...I've been to several and it is amazing. We have some of it here but no nearly at the same level

Comment

Poor snowflake....

Comment

The refs do not need to strike. The leagues just need to move the spectators back. 10 20 yards. If the soccer complex can not accommodate because of space sorry you just can not watch.

My son has played soccer for 8 years. Took the course became a ref for one year. He did not want to recert because the parents are so bad. He only did rec u10 -u12 games.

No worth the headaches.

Comment

Yes. Go on strike. Then they can all go to their safe place, coddle each other, rub each other's back, and have a good cry. Free ice cream for everyone!

No one, NO ONE, made him become a referee. The environment existed long before. It was not a surprise. Don't like it? Don't do it.

Comment