Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What is your word worth

I have been a reader on this forum for quite some time and I am a coach of a premier level team. I hear quite often club and / or coach bashing going on. Failure to deliver on promises, poor coaching, poor team, poor record, etc all seem to lead to parents changing clubs. I'll be the 1st to admit many clubs or coaches do not deliver what they promise. But what about when roles are reversed? During this time of year we see the discussion forum light up with posts on players leaving for another club or a popular coach leaving a club and players following suit. What about the parents who not only make a verbal commitment but also sign the commitment letter and then change their minds? I think this is as bad as the coach who promises a player a spot and then takes the next best thing that comes along. The grass is not always greener on the other side and constant player movement year after year is not a good development model. Too many people get wrapped up in the status of playing at a certain level within maple and lose their focus on proper development and along the way they burn many bridges and all for what? What are they teaching their children when they make a commitment and try to back out of that commitment? I come from an era when a person's word meant something and reflected upon their character. So when a parent does not live up to their word it reflects badly on their character. I am not here to bash parents or clubs or coaches but I think the whole frenzy that surrounds premier try outs are getting way out of hand and the focus should be on long term development and not short term glory

Re: What is your word worth

Originally posted by Toeball