Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Club Costs

Ok I'm new to the higher level soccer but seriously what is everyone paying for a year on soccer with some of thee club teams. I'm hearing 7k is about right for a ECNL team? ODP around $1700 total and more if your child is regional or goes overseas for the national game. Several clubs are charging $2400 a season and that is before you buy uniforms, required tournament fee's and the likes.

Is it just me or has soccer become about the money and not about the game. I've played for a long time and back home it cost very little because it wasn't about bling and instead it was find a ball and a net and that is all that was needed. We'd play on dirt, gravel, tar, grass or whatever.

I was checking out some teams this summer and came to realization that the coaches wanted my money and not my child. How dare I ask about playing time or skills that would be taught. I got more pay up and shut up attitudes that i wanted to explain to the coach that no matter what he preached the kdis were a 4 out 10 at best compared to the rest of the world. maybe there was a 6 somewhere but I doubt it.

SO why is it so expensive? Can anyone tell me why? Do these coaches get all the money? 16 players x $2400. or is that why they have 3 or 4 teams?

Originally posted by Unregistered View Post
    Ok I'm new to the higher level soccer but seriously what is everyone paying for a year on soccer with some of thee club teams. I'm hearing 7k is about right for a ECNL team? ODP around $1700 total and more if your child is regional or goes overseas for the national game. Several clubs are charging $2400 a season and that is before you buy uniforms, required tournament fee's and the likes.