Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Average playing time expectations?

Does anyone know what a kid can expect for playing time on a club team? I'm very new to soccer but I don't understand playing time and how it is divided up for 11v11. ANyone have any thoughts?

Is your kid good?

Comment

The answer to this question really depends on age. If your child is U11 then they really should be playing at least half the game. There are teams that do not substitute defenders, but everyone else subs.

About U14 playing time becomes more ability based on most teams although most good coaches manage to get every player in for relevant minutes.

About U16 playing time becomes even more unequal but still every player should play

Comment

Originally posted by Unregistered View Post
        The answer to this question really depends on age. If your child is U11 then they really should be playing at least half the game. There are teams that do not substitute defenders, but everyone else subs.

About U14 playing time becomes more ability based on most teams although most good coaches manage to get every player in for relevant minutes.

About U16 playing time becomes even more unequal but still every player should play
        my child is U12

Comment

Is your kid good?
          Was good, but with no playing time....no confidence

Comment

in my kids case, just moved to a new team, D1, and has to earn playing time. Currently getting 15 minutes a half and quite frankly has to do more to earn more time. The coach is upfront saying "this is where I see you but you need to do x, y and z to stay on the field. The good thing is they focus on those weaknesses in practice and talk about it all the time. It is now up to the player to pick it up.

Comment