Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Corona Virus

Another local person has died today and several Western Washington schools are closed. What are people's opinions regarding travel soccer?

I wish the clubs would cancel travel so I don't have to be the only parent not sending my kid. What's the point of travel? There is more to life then exposing yourself to a potentially deadly virus or a deadly virus for a friend or family member. I say it's not worth it but I'm no CDC doctor or DoC who needs to win a few games.

Comment

Was pondering the same thing today, and I work in the healthcare field.

My daughter is joining a pre-ecnl team with a few out of state tournaments per season.

With all of the negative aspects of travel sports, I never imagined this present risk scenario.

Weigh the risks and rewards and choose what's best for your family.

If it were my DD, I absolutely wouldn't travel during the outbreak. I'd rather deal with the consequences and backlash from the coach and club, than risk ending up quarantined in another state for 2+ weeks.

Comment

The less contact you have with people in the hospitality industry, the better. I think there are way more cases of the virus than is being reported. Getting tested is expensive. I’m guessing there are people who are infested and don’t even know it. Imagine staying in a hotel and one player getting infected, sharing beds with teammates. Sneezing in vans, touching door knobs, etc. Do not send your kids unless you absolutely feel you have to.

Comment

Originally posted by Unregistered View Post
          Another local person has died today and several Western Washington schools are closed. What are people's opinions regarding travel soccer?
          My opinion is that Coronavirus will not be able to solve the issues plaguing travel soccer.

Comment

WW is ground central for coronavirus. Out of state travel probably reduces their risk